Last update 17th March 2013
This page deals with all the rules questions that you might have about God of Battles. Please read the questions and answers below to see if your query has already been answered. If not, feel free to ask in the comments section at the bottom of the page.
If you have any questions on the game rules, or if you see a post on a forum somewhere that does, then please direct them here so that I can deal with them all in a single document. That way questions get answered consistently and everyone gets the benefit 🙂
Unfortunately there are a few small mistakes in the printed version of the rules. These were caused by a mixture of cut and paste errors (on the cards) and only partly adding the final round of corrections. For example, the Skeleton Warriors were originally 8 points, but did not have Fighty. During playtesting it became obvious that they weren’t sufficiently better than the Horde, so I made them more dangerous by adding that ability (which also changed their cost). For some reason the new ability was added to the laid out version without the cost change.
I have now checked all the army lists and miracle cards in my original files against the printed book and the corrections below are how it should be played. I’m sorry for the inconvenience. Unfortunately I was not allowed to check proofs of the laid out rules before they went to press.
Page 197 & 198: Replace “Brute Ravagers” with “Brute Ravagers (1)“.
Page 197 & 203: Brute Watchers (Bodyguard) should cost 12 points and have a Move of 10.
Page 211 & 212: Skeleton Warriors should cost 10 points.
Page 206: Replace the title “Shoddy Goods” with “Burak’s Rage”. The card and description are both correct.
Page 226 & 228: An Eagle Tribe should have the Scouting Ahead ability.
Page 226 & 230: A Pygmy Tribe should cost 4 points and have 10 models in a unit.
Page 238: The Swift Strike card is wrong; the text is correct. Swift Strike is a cost 4 Blessing that can be called on a friendly unit. The effect is to re-roll failed melee attack rolls.
Page 238: The Hawkeye card is wrong; the text is correct. Hawkeye is a cost 4 Blessing that can be called on a friendly unit. The effect is to re-roll failed shooting attack rolls.
Page 257: The Cth’ak’s Will card is wrong; the text is correct. Cth’ak’s Will is a cost 4 Blessing that can be called on a friendly unit. The effect is to re-roll failed defence rolls.
The following are dealt with in 3 steps rather than the more common 2. As well as a Question (Q) and an Answer (A) I’ve included a Discussion (D) section so that I can talk around the topic as needed. This might explain why a rule is as it is, the history of its development or the tactical implications among other things. The intention is to give you a better insight and understanding into the decisions behind the rules as well as the rules themselves.
Q: With a standard bearer I can choose to use their ability to add 1 defence dice. This dice succeeds on a 2+, but on a 1 the bearer is killed. In the situation where I have chosen to use this ability and roll a 1, but my other defence dice manage to stop all my opponent’s hits, do I still have to lose my standard bearer?
D: Using your Standard Bearer to get an extra save is always a risk, and deciding whether to jump in or not can be an entertainingly agonising decision. A roll of a 1 is always fatal to a Standard Bearer who has taken the risk. The only way to avoid their death is to have the Protect the Standard skill, and even then it’s not that you are avoiding it, simply that someone else is willing to pick the banner up again.
The relevant rule is on page 15 in the second paragraph of the Standard Bearer section. When talking about what happens if you roll a 1 for this test it says that even if “you have rolled enough defences to stop the attack, then the Standard Bearer will still die.”
For example, if my unit of Goblins take 4 hits from an attack they must roll their defence. As the unit has not been previously damaged they have 12 dice, needing 6s. I have taken a Standard Bearer for just such an occasion and decide to risk them. This adds another dice so that I am now rolling 13, but this last one is a different colour as I only need a 2+ for it to succeed instead of the normal 6 for the rest of the unit. The following results are possible:
- Standard rolls a 2+, rest of the unit rolls 4 or more saves = the unit takes no losses.
- Standard rolls a 2+, rest of the unit rolls 3 or less saves = the unit loses one model for each hit they did not save. The goblin player can choose which models to remove, which means that they can take a normal trooper and leave the Standard Bearer with the unit.
- Standard rolls a 1, rest of the unit rolls 3 or less saves = the unit loses one model for each hit they did not save. The first model to die must be the Standard Bearer because they rolled a 1. After that the goblin player will remove other models to make up the required number of losses.
- Standard rolls a 1, rest of the unit rolls 4 or more saves = the Standard Bearer has rolled a 1 and so he must die. The rest of the unit takes no losses. Note that this loss will still trigger a TOC/recoil as appropriate for that type of attack.
To keep things tidy, comments and questions will be deleted from this page once they have been addressed in the FAQ.