DS Arcs

Following on from the discussion about LOS, we have some queries about arcs.

This confusion is my fault. Apologies for that. The issue is one of precision, and things being added to the core rules (multi-base models) without being adequately accommodated in the small print.

I think the arcs digram on page 18 is clear enough. Works fine for 1-square models in adjacent squares. Larger models raise some questions.

As was pointed out, Large and Huge creatures cannot be entirely in either front or rear arc as this only extends 1 square from a model. So which arc are they in?

A few more diagrams should help. The red is the front arc of the central Hero, and the blue is rear.

DS arcs 01The Troll counts as being in the Hero’s front arc here:

DS arcs 02And here:

DS arcs 03And in the rear arc here:

DS arcs 04

And here:

DS arcs 05So, if any of the squares occupied by the base of the Large or Huge model are in the front arc of the target, then it is in the target’s front arc.

Otherwise, a Large or Huge model that occupies at least one square in a rear arc of the target is in its rear arc.

Does that help?

 

 

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Dungeon Sagas, FAQ and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to DS Arcs

  1. Seb says:

    Perfectly clear! (anyway, that’s how I play DS with large creatures ^_^)

  2. Pikaraph says:

    Perfect !!

  3. mbss says:

    Seems correct. Now just need to extend it out to shooting and define front and back there to finish cleaning up this Section of the core rules.

    • Pikaraph says:

      Yes, that would be great.

    • Quirkworthy says:

      Sure. Just trying to get agreement on a bit at a time 🙂

      • mbss says:

        And we do appreciate it.

        On a side note, for some reason some people (specifically french) believe that Bosses get a free activation during the overlord turn. I could find no justification for this and they seemed to be basing it one some text that says Bosses are treated like Heroes and then taking that to mean that since heroes are used every turn that a Boss will get to be used every turn for free essentially.

        • Quirkworthy says:

          I’ve not come across that one. And no, Bosses do not get free actions.

        • mbss says:

          I figured if they did get free actions it would have shown up specifically as a step on the back of the rules in the summary. Give them a free action and let Ghosts go the turn they are summoned and I think the Banshee mission becomes impossible.

        • Quirkworthy says:

          I expect so. It’s hard enough as it is.

        • mbss says:

          Another random question that you can probably answer easily is on the Dance Macabre overlord card. As written and as I think intended only models that move (models not already in a hero front arc) get the bonus fight attack.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s