Unlike most FAQs it has a comments section for you to ask questions, and as it is on this site I will check it frequently. It is, in effect, a continual work in progress. Periodically Mantic will do a pretty version of this FAQ for their main site, which will form a sort of stable benchmark. These will be updated as necessary – probably not often once the initial dust settles 🙂
If you have any questions on the game rules, or if you see a post on a forum somewhere that does, then please direct them here so I can deal with them all in a single document. That way questions get answered consistently and everyone gets the benefit 🙂
- Scenario 4: The Skeleton Hound in the top right quarter of the map should start one square to the left of where it is marked.
- Scenario 5: Only the Dwarf models in the 6×6 room at the top of the map may use Son of Stone.
I have some more questions to deal with, but they need diagrams (which I will do shortly). In the meantime, please ask away if you have a query that hasn’t been covered.
Q: Can you attack and count for outnumbering across diagonals you would not be able to move across?
A: Diagonals are not blocked for combat either way. It’s much easier to jab a spear or a sword through a small gap than it is to squeeze a whole Dwarf or Orc through. Blocked diagonals are an issue with movement, never for fighting, and have no bearing on outnumbering or anything else.
Q: As turning does not cost movement, does a model get to turn to face an enemy before they Break Off and the foe makes a Free Strike (ie, can you avoid the -1 dice for being attacked by a model in its rear arc)?
A: Free Strikes still take into account the position of the models. Page 8, bottom right paragraph, states that the Free Strike happens before the model is moved. As turning counts as movement (even though it is free), this means that the model must take the Free Strike with whatever penalties would normally apply, plus the additional -1D for being a Free Strike. Yes, it’s harsh, but that’s what you get for running away!
Q: Can you move from one square that is adjacent to an enemy model to another square that is also adjacent? In reading the rules, it looks like you can, since your movement ends when you enter an adjacent square to an enemy model. It also appears that it wouldn’t provoke a Free Strike, since that’s only provoked when you move away from an opponent.
A: No. You may never (future Special Rules aside) move from one square that is adjacent to an enemy to another that is also adjacent to the same or any other enemy model. If you are adjacent to the enemy you have the option to Break Off, or turn on the spot. Breaking off will trigger a Free Strike, but turning will not.
This is implied rather than explicit in the current rules, and if I get a chance to edit them on future reprints I will make it clearer.
To keep things tidy, comments and questions will be deleted from this page once they have been actioned.